Jelajah Malaysia Pedals Off from UMW Toyota Motor HQ

The UMW Toyota Motor’s office in Shah Alam was all about the ride today when Asia’s oldest bicycling tournament, the Jelajah Malaysia kicked off its 53rd edition here this morning.

Eighteen teams began their quest to win the historical 5-day event that will see the riders race over five competitive stages through three states including Selangor, Perak and Kedah. The event was flagged-off by YBhg Datuk Abu Samah Abdul Wahab, President of the Malaysian National Cycling Federation; YB Amiruddin Shari; Selangor State Exco for Youth, Sports, Culture and Entrepreneur Development and Mr. Akio Takeyama, Deputy Chairman of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd.

Witnessing the flag off are Encik Noraidiazhar Sulaiman, Jelajah Malaysia’s Chief Executive Officer; and Mr. Ravindran K. President of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn. Bhd.

In his speech, Mr. Ravindran K. thanked the organisers for the honour of serving as the event’s official vehicle sponsor and reiterated the company’s commitment towards developing healthy and wholesome outdoor activities.

“It is a privilege for Toyota to support an event as the Jelajah Malaysia by providing the official vehicle fleet. We hope that through such high-profile events, we are able to play a role in encouraging greater participation in such activities that would lead to a healthier nation,” said Mr. Ravindran K.

Leisure cycling is particularly popular among the management and staff of UMW Toyota Motor. The Toyota Cycling Club currently boasts over 300 active members who actively participate in many cycling events at various locations around the country. Apart from enjoying the good road networks, scenic landscapes and challenging terrain the country has to offer, the Toyota Cycling Club members also help to spread the message of road safety and the need to share the roads responsibly.

This year’s Jelajah Malaysia will be held between 3rd and 7th October 2017 and run along the Peninsular’s west coast to the finish in Alor Setar.  The event features 108 local and international cyclists from 18 teams competing over the five stages. Malaysians will field nine teams in this year’s event.

About the Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply