Paul Scheuschner and Hendrik Still take their first victory in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe at Spa

At Spa, the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe had also the safety car among its protagonists. The second of the two races of the Belgian round,  the fourth of the six events of the season, had an unexpected yet compelling result. The neutralization of some laps stirred things up and helped those who had already completed the pit-stop. Suffice it to say that the first PRO crew, that of GDL Racing formed by Rik Breukers and Axcil Jefferies, finished fifth.

But let’s proceed with order: in Belgium, the first absolute win and the first success in the PRO-AM were scored by Paul Scheuschner and Hendrik Still, authors of a regular conduct with a car of Konrad Motorsport. Immediately behind them finished three AM crews: the duo of VS Racing made up by Andrej Lewandowski and Teodor Myszkowski, who finished in second position and first in their class. This victory allowed the two Poles to strengthen their top position in the standings, thus reaching five successes achieved in the first part of this season. Behind them are an excellent Mario Cordoni (GDL Racing) and Raffaele Giannoni (Automobile Tricolore). The latter, however, received a penalty for exceeding the speed limit in the pit lane during the pit-stop, otherwise he could have aspired to climb to the top step of the podium.

Then, Breukers and Jefferies achieved another success in the PRO (after winning the opening round at Monza), but only after a duel with Raphael Abbate and Yuki Nemoto, who finished second with VS Racing. In the same class, the third place was taken by the duo of Artline Team Georgia, formed by Sergey Afanasiev and Gerhard Tweraser. Mikaël Grenier and Loris Spinelli, who dominated in Race 1 with Antonelli Motorsport yesterday, finished only in fourth position. After starting from the pole position, the Italian driver was immediately the innocent protagonist of a contact with Jonathan Cecotto (Imperiale Racing), who then received a 10-second penalty. The young Venezuelan together with Vito Postiglione are still leading the standings even only by a single point over Breukers and Jefferies.

In the PRO-AM, Christopher Dreyspring and Liang Jatong (VS Racing) are still leading the championship standings  after getting a fourth-place finish behind Shota Abkhazava and Kelvin Snoeks, second with Artline Team Georgia as well as Niels Lagrange-Pieter Vanneste (Leipert Motorsport).

Lastly, in the Lamborghini Cup , the Colombian Juan Perez (Antonelli Motorsport) scored his third win in a row and finished again ahead of the unchanged leader of the standings, Gerard Van der Horst, as well as William Van Deyzen, drivers of the team Van der Horst Motorsport.

The next round of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe will take place at the German circuit of the Nürburgring on the weekend of September 15-17.

About the Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply