Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint V8 Supercar Results

The Red Bull Holden driver now has the record for most championships, pole positions and race wins after 13 dominant seasons. So does that make Whincup the greatest driver of all time?

“Of this era, he’s the greatest, there’s no doubt about that,” Lowndes told AAP. “It’s hard to say he’s the greatest of all time as different eras have different greats. “It was just a matter of time before he beat it. He’s a great, determined driver and for as long as he puts his backside in a race car he’ll win races.”

Whincup’s success at Eastern Creek also has him in the mix for a seventh title, moving to within 12 points of series leader Scott McLaughlin. In keeping with his personality, Whincup refused to get caught up by the history of the moment.

“The only problem is Lowndsey will out-drive me, he will be around for another ten years at least,” he said. “The numbers don’t mean a huge amount right now … I’m still in the heat of the battle, it’s all still happening. “I’m sure they’ll mean a lot when I hang the helmet up and move on to something else.”


106 – Jamie Whincup

105 – Craig Lowndes

90 – Mark Skaife

54 – Garth Tander

48 – Peter Brock

40 – Glenn Seton

38 – Mark Winterbottom

36 – Alan Moffat

About the Author

Leave a Reply